Professional Certificate

The Cybersecurity Professional Certificate provides education in the cybersecurity area of information assurance. The curriculum is based upon the core knowledge units for information assurance developed by the National Security Agency (NSA) and the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). The Certificate consists of six domain areas: (1) programming; (2) basic data analysis; (3) policy, legal, ethics and compliance; (4) networking and IT systems components; (5) system administration; and (6) fundamental security design principles, cyber threats, cyber defense, and cryptography.

The Certificate is a subset of courses leading to the AAS degree in the Information Technology – Network Administration & Security at Missoula College or the BS degree in Management Information Systems from the College of Business. This partnership requires all students to complete at least one course at Missoula College selected from the following list: CSCI 215E, ITS 150, or ITS 222.

Missoula College is designated as a National Center of Academic Excellence (CAE) in Cyber Defense Two-Year Education (CAE2Y) by the NSA and DHS. Those students completing the courses: CSCI 105, CSCI 172, CSCI 215E, ITS 150, ITS 210, ITS 214, ITS 222 will receive special recognition indicating completion of an NSA and DHS-approved Cybersecurity CAE program of study.

Students interested in a Cybersecurity career should begin their education by pursuing the AAS degree in IT with the Network Administration & Security option.

Complete Program Information


Steven Stiff

IT/Cybersecurity Program Director


Getting Started

If you're ready to get going, click the button below!

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon